LICENSES & PERMITS

During the COVID-19 situation, some services have been modified.

Click here to learn more.

Concealed Handgun Unit


The Concealed Handgun Unit administers and manages all aspects of applying for and the issuance of concealed carry licenses. The Unit is responsible for investigating applicants and issuing concealed handgun licenses to those who meet the legal standards set by the ORS. The Unit monitors existing licenses and, when necessary, revokes licenses for reasons consistent with the law.

The Concealed Handgun Unit processes renewal notifications on a monthly basis and responds to questions from the public regarding the application process and other concealed carry related issues. A secondary function of the Concealed Handgun Unit is the issuance of Expedited Court Access ID cards. These ID Cards are issued as a courtesy to people who regularly need access to the Multnomah County Courthouse for their employment.

Renewals ($50), Reinstatements ($50), and Address Change, Name Change or Replacement ($15) can be mailed in to our office at 4735 E Burnside St., Portland, OR 97215 or dropped off Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM. When mailing or dropping off, please provide a completed application and the required fees. We accept check or money order and if dropping off, you can also pay with exact cash or credit card.
  • Click HERE for an application for Renewal, Reinstatement, Address Change, Name Change or Replacement

For New Applications, Transfers or Transfer/Renewals please submit an application to our office and we will schedule you for an appointment. We will notify you of your appointment date by email. New applications can be submitted by:

When applying for a first time Concealed Handgun License in Multnomah County, do not send payment. Payment will be collected at the time of your appointment.

Online Concealed Handgun Course


The Multnomah County Sheriff's Office offers an online option for those who want to apply for their CHL and still needs to meet the handgun training requirement set by ORS 166.291(1)(f). This course is only required for those individuals applying for a concealed handgun permit for the first time with the Multnomah County Sheriff's Office. Additionally, this course is not required if you are transferring your CHL from one Oregon County to another and have already met the training requirement. Our CHL Prep course provides the relevant and practical information you need to not only satisfy the education requirements necessary to get your license, but also to help you determine if carrying a concealed handgun is right for you!!

It's easy to start this process. Go to Oregon CHL Prep, create an account, register for the class and pay electronically.

The course covers:
  • CHL requirements
  • Weapons safety and storage
  • Methods of concealment
  • Use of force
Test questions ensure that you understand the material before moving on to the next section.

After completing the course, you can print your certificate immediately!

Once you have your certificate, the process for getting a concealed handgun license will vary by the county that you live in.

Alarms Unit


The False Alarm Reduction Program regulates burglary and robbery alarms in unincorporated Multnomah County and through collaborative contracts with East Multnomah County cities. Alarm regulation increases the probability that police respond to a valid alarm, saving scarce Public Safety resources. False alarm penalties promote good equipment maintenance technology. False alarm response is a nonproductive use of police time and resources. Current and valid permits as well as properly functioning alarms promote safety through quick response. Citizens using alarms partner with police to promote safety in their community.Alarm Application and Fee Schedule

OLCC Licenses


The Multnomah County Sheriff’s Office is responsible for reviewing new OLCC license requests, annual renewal of existing OLCC and temporary special event licenses for businesses and events in unincorporated Multnomah County.

ATF


The Multnomah County Sheriff is the Chief Local Law Enforcement Official of Multnomah County and therefore, the Multnomah County Sheriff’s Office is responsible for accepting and maintaining copies of various ATF forms as required by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. These include:

  • Application for Tax Paid Transfer and Registration of Firearm.
  • Application for Tax Exempt Transfer and Registration of Firearm.
  • Report of Multiple Sale or Other Disposition of Pistols and Revolvers.
  • Application to Make and Register a Firearm.
  • Application for Federal Firearms License.

Expedited Courthouse Access


Expedited Court Access cards are available for Multnomah County and District Attorney Staff, legal associates, attorneys in good standing with the Oregon State Bar and independent court vendors. Expedited court access cards permit certain individuals expedited access into the Multnomah County Courthouse. Requests for these cards are processed by the Multnomah County Sheriff’s Office Concealed Handgun Unit.

Frequently Asked Questions

Expedited Court Access cards are available for Multnomah County and District Attorney Staff, legal associates, attorneys in good standing with the Oregon State Bar, and independent court vendors. The following documents provide necessary application details, forms and fees:

The following resources are available to assist you in obtaining a Concealed Handgun License: For New Applications, Transfers and Transfer / Renewal, complete the Concealed Handgun Application and click submit. The CHL staff will receive your application, schedule an appointment and send you an email with the appointment date and time.

For Renewals, Reinstatements, Change of Address, Name Change, and Replacement complete the Printable Application and print the application. The application can either be submitted with payment by mailing to Multnomah County Concealed Handgun Unit, 4735 E Burnside St., Portland, OR 97215 or by dropping it off Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM.

Installing or activating an alarm system in your home or business is a very important step in crime prevention and protecting your home and family. The next step is to comply with local ordinances by obtaining an alarm permit to operate your system. Below is a list of resources to help you locate the appropriate ordinances, along with an alarm application and fee schedule. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us by email at alarms@mcso.us, or by calling 503-988-0511.

Multnomah County

Serving alarm users in Fairview, Gresham, Maywood Park, Troutdale, Wood Village and Unincorporated Multnomah County.

City of Portland

For alarm users within the Portland city limits: City of Portland Alarm Information

Obtaining the proper permits for manufacturing, selling, importing or distributing alcohol in Oregon and Multnomah County is a multi-step process and the following materials and links are available to assist you:

New Application - $65.00
Renewal License - $50.00
Transfer Fee - $30.00
Transfer and Renewal - $65.00
Address Change and Replacement - $15.00

Fees are non-refundable. Only exact cash, check, money order, VISA/MASTERCARD, Debit/Credit.

To renew your concealed hangun license, complete the Printable Application and print the application. The application can either be submitted with payment by mailing to Multnomah County Concealed Handgun Unit, 4735 E Burnside St., Portland, OR 97215 or by dropping it off Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM.

It is up to the CHL holder to know their expiration date and renew before it expires.

No. You can renew your license by complete the Printable Application and print the application. The application can either be submitted with payment by mailing to Multnomah County Concealed Handgun Unit, 4735 E Burnside St., Portland, OR 97215 or by dropping it off Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM.

No. Your valid or expired concealed handgun license is proof that you attended a handgun safety course.

Active military personnel who are deployed are no longer expected to renew in person. You may mail your application with a copy of your orders and deployment papers and we will mail your permit to either your Multnomah County address of record, or your military mailing address. Your CHL must be valid at the time you renew - it cannot be expired.

If you moved within Multnomah County or Washington State, you must first change your address with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Once this is done, complete the Printable Application and print the application. The application can either be submitted with payment by mailing to Multnomah County Concealed Handgun Unit, 4735 E Burnside St., Portland, OR 97215 or by dropping it off Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM.

The Concealed Handgun License is an Oregon Permit, but it is administered in the County you reside in. When you change your DMV license you need to change your CHL so that both addresses are the same. This is a Transfer or a Transfer / Renewal if your permit is about to expire. To transfer your CHL, you must be scheduled for an appointment so the CHL staff can obtain new fingerprints and a photograph. You can start this process by clicking on the Concealed Handgun Application link, complete the application and click submit. The CHL staff will receive your application, schedule an appointment and send you an email with your appointment date and time. You will also need to bring your concealed license from the other county and your driver's license when you come in for your appointment.

ATF paperwork can be emailed to ATFforms@mcso.us, or dropped off / mailed to 4735 E Burnside, St., Portland, OR 97215